A brief stay in Winnipeg

In Winnipeg we made our home at 72 Hindley Avenue in the St. Vital area.

Hindley ave

We stayed only a few months, leaving again not long after my fourth birthday in April 1946.

family at Hindley ave

I love this picture because it is one of the few that includes my father along with the rest of us.  It was taken on the steps of 72 Hindley Avenue.

And here I am on my fourth birthday.

fourth birthday

And again, with Mum and Nadine.

Winnipeg, Spring 1946

Our next home was in Neepawa, Manitoba.

2 thoughts on “A brief stay in Winnipeg

  1. My memory may be a bit faulty on this but I seem to remember mom & dad saying that we left just in time to miss the flood. I don’t know if this would have been one of the really bad ones or just a regular seasonal one.

  2. Probably a seasonal one. The rivers would be rising around the time we left. The big one I recall was 1950. We heard about it via the news media and I remember St. Vital being named as a hard-hit neighbourhood.

Leave a Reply

